Private Single Barrel and Small Batch Whiskey Programs

Want to buy a whole barrel of whiskey? Read about how to do it, and consult this guide. Bear in mind: Due to high demand, some barrel purchase programs have been placed on hold, or have long waiting lists. Begin by setting up a selection session with a participating retailer. Unsure if your favorite whisky retailer participates? Look for “private selection” picks in their bourbon aisle or contact the distilleries below to assist with finding a retailer in your area.

Distilleries with Batching Programs

1792 Barton

Buffalo Trace

WhistlePig

Woodford Reserve—available for bourbon, rye, or Double Oaked bourbon

Brands with Single Barrel Programs

The whiskeys offered for private barrels change frequently. Check with the distillery for current selections.

Barrell Bourbon—Available for bourbon and Canadian rye, as well as occasionally whiskey and rum

Contact: Joe Beatrice, joe@barrellbourbon.com

Beam Suntory—Available for Jim Beam Single Barrel, Knob Creek, and Maker’s Mark

For details on the program, ask your retailer to contact the local Beam Suntory representative or distributor.

Belle Meade

Contact: Chris Jones, chris@greenbrierdistillery.com

F.E.W. Spirits

Contact: Paul Hletko, info@fewspirits.com

Four Roses

Contact: Mandy Vance, mvance@fourrosesbourbon.com

George Dickel

Contact: Nicole Austin, Nicole.austin@diageo.com

Heaven Hill—Available for Elijah Craig

For details on the program, ask your retailer to contact the local Heaven Hill representative or distributor.

High West

Contact: Justin Lew, justin.l@highwest.com

Jack Daniel’s

Contact: Visit the website or call 1-888-551-5225

Old Forester

Contact: Jackie Zykan

Sazerac—Available for Barton 1792, Buffalo Trace, Caribou Crossing (Canadian), and Speyburn Companion Cask (scotch)

Contact: Visit singlebarrelselect.com.

WhistlePig

Contact: Gregory Gatti, Gregory@whistlepigrye.com

Wild Turkey—Available for Kentucky Spirit and Russell’s Reserve Single Barrel

Contact: Katrina Egbert, Katrina.egbert@campari.com

Woodford Reserve

Contact: Chris Poynter, chris_poynter@b-f.com

Wyoming Whiskey

Contact: David Defazio, david@wyomingwhiskey.com

More From How To